Chamoli District

Chamoli District | PLACES AROUND | Chamoli District | Tourism | Nanda Devi Raj Jat
Chamoli District | Tourism
This Google Map cannot be loaded because the maps API does not appear to be loaded
Uttarakhand Guide

The second largest district of Uttarakhand state, 8,030 square kilometers of area spread over 800 to 8000 meters above sea level, the snow clapped Himalayan peaks in Chamoli district are Nanda Devi, Nanda Ghunti, Trishul,  Hathi parvat, Mrigthuni, Neelkanth. The fascinating glaciers like Doonagiri cuddling through and in between the Himalayan peaks and trekking ranges like Dronagiri and Kuari Pass offer heavenly pleasure to the nature lovers. Adding to the fun, Chamoli district houses Auli bugyal for adventure sports lovers who want to do skiing as a learner or professional. Different tributaries of holy Ganga like Alaknanda, Ramganga, Dhauli Ganga, Birhi Ganga, Nandakini, Khilrawan and Pindar rivers flow in Chamoli district contributing to its beauty and significance.

Mountains and plains covered with variety of flora and fauna are other assets of Chamoli district. Valley of Flowers National Park is showcase of hundreds of varieties of wild flowers providing shades of colorful flowers- your heart will leap up with joy and you will look towards the sky to thank God that you are at the place at least once in your life. Nanda Devi Biosphere Reserve preserves wide variety of tree species and wild animals.

Above all, Chamoli district is home to number of pilgrimages visited by thousands of Hindu devotees every year. One of the CharDham pilgrimages Badrinath, all five of Panch Badri- Adi Badri, Yogdhyan Badri, Bhavishya Badri, Vriddha Badri and Badri Bishal (Badrinath), three of Panch Prayag- Vishnuprayag, Nandprayag and Karnaprayag, two of Panch Kedar- Rudranath and Tungnath, other major pilgrimages- Joshimath, Hem kund Sahib and Gopeshwar are some of the places in Chamoli district.

History of Chamoli District

Garhwal region was divided into 64 principalities after the downfall of Katyuri dynasty who ruled over unified Uttarakhand. Chandpurgarh of Garhwal became a powerful principality during the rule of King Jagatpal (1455 to 1493AD). Descendent of Jagatpal, King Ajaypal, transferred the capital to Srinagar. In  In 1803, Gurkhas captured the independent Garhwal Kingdom. In 1816, Gurkhas were defeated in the Anglo-Nepalese War with British. British ruled half part of the kingdom- the region that is in east of Alaknanda and Mandakini river and rest of the part was restored in Tehri village where King Sudarshan Shah ruled. In 1960, two districts Pauri Garhwal and Chamoli were taken out from Garhwal district.

It was 24th February 1960 when Chamoli district came into independent existence.

Chamoli District | How To Reach?

  • By Air: The nearest airport is Jolly Grant Dehradun Km from the district headquarter Gopeshwar. There are daily flights between Jolly Grant and Delhi & Chandigarh. You need to take taxi or cab from Jolly Grant to Chamoli.
  • By Rail: The nearest railhead is Rishikesh Railway Station Km from Gopeshwar. You can find taxi or bus from Rishikesh to Chamoli. Rishikesh is the route for you to come from Haridwar and Dehradun .
  • By Road: Chamoli district is well connected with major towns of Dev Bhoomi Uttarakhand. You can find regular bus service from Rishikesh to Srinagar. Rishikesh, Pauri Garhwal, Uttarkashi, Rudraprayag, Ukhimath, Srinagar and Gopeshwar are well connected to Chamoli district by roadways.
Access denied for user 'uttarakh'@'localhost' (using password: NO)